IEC Memorial Scholarship

Deadline is December 31, 2022 to apply to win 1 of 14 Memorial Scholarships from the Illinois Electric Cooperatives worth $2,000 each towards the cost of college. Please visit the link below and fill out your application in full and submit it electronically no later than December 31. If you have questions, call Randy at (618) 842-2196 for additional details. Click the LINK below to read the complete rules and fill out a Scholarship Application:

Visit the IEC Memorial Scholarship Fund website for the online Application Process.

Complete the application forms online at the IEC Memorial Scholarship Fund website along with your biographical statement and 500 word essay.

It is Scholarship time again at Wayne-White Electric Cooperative. The deadline is December 31, 2022 to apply and be eligible for 1 of 14 scholarships to be awarded statewide by the Illinois Electric Cooperatives valued at $2,000 each. There is no cost to enter. As a cooperative member, if your son or daughter is a senior and plans to enroll full-time (at least 12 credit hours) in a 2-year or 4-year college, they are eligible to enter. Children of cooperative employees and directors are also eligible to apply.

While the scholarships are competitive statewide, Wayne-White Electric Cooperative has been fortunate to have four recent scholarship winners in the past 6 years. The application includes academic information and test scores, community activities, volunteer experience, and a short 500 word essay describing their knowledge of electric cooperatives, how they function and the impact of electricity on their lives.

The annual winners are not necessarily the students with the highest American College Test (ACT) score or perfect grade point average (GPA). A lot of weight is placed on the written essay, extra-curricular activities and volunteer service to the community. Every cooperative member’s student is encouraged to apply regardless of their GPA or ACT test score. Billy Hatfield and Allyson Taylor both received one of the $2,000 scholarships. Hatfield attends the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana. while Taylor has used her scholarship to attend SIU-Carbondale.

Another NEW scholarship is also offered-known asthe Lavern & Nola McEntire Lineworker’s Scholarship. This award is worth $2,000 towards the cost of attending lineworkers school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives (AIEC) in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College in Springfield. Mr. McEntire worked as a linemen for over 42 years at an electric cooperative in Macomb, Illinois.

The winner of this unique lineworker’s scholarship will be based upon an essay, biographical statement, references, and a recommendation. It is a separate application from the other seven IEC scholarships. This is the first year for this new lineworker’s scholarship. Applicants must hold a high school diploma or GED at the time the scholarship is awarded in 2023. Individual applicants for the lineworker’s scholarship should be “related” to an electric cooperative employee or director in Illinois, or has served or is serving in the National Guard or U.S. armed forces.

Visit the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives website for the Lineworker’s Scholarship application.